Lost Wallet

Posted on April 13th, 2012 by Viveca in New York Stories

I lost my wallet on the bench in the subway station near my house. Is it called a wallet if it carries cards but no cash? Anyway I must have had it to swipe my MetroCard entering the subway, but I didn’t have it when I wanted to swipe for the bus to finish my commute. I knew right away what had happened. While waiting for the subway I usually put it in a coat pocket so it’s handy for the bus (as opposed to throwing it in my purse). Today I didn’t have a coat pocket, so I had it on my lap with a book I was editing. I was sure it slipped off when I stood up.

I filled out the MTA lost property request but didn’t report the cards stolen. Instead, I took a different route home so I’d wind up on the same side of the station (local station, no connection), looked around for it, and tried to find a local station master’s number but no luck.

Late at night a dude called with my wallet! So I raced over to his house (not that far), and the guy tried to get me to come into his room. It was sordid. I slipped him a $20 and bolted. Everything was there except the MetroCard.

Leave a Reply

More News

Calendar

March 2019
M T W T F S S
« Jan    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The End of the Line

Weighing the options

SIR: St. George, Staten Island

Monday, April 9, 2012 Spring break for the Salisbury (CT) public ...

3: 148th Street/Harlem, Manhattan

Tuesday, November 15, 2011 I read a bit of that Quran, ...

S: Franklin Avenue, Brooklyn

Thursday, August 11, 2011 Boy if I thought Damaso changing his ...

NQ: Astoria/Ditmars Boulevard, Queens

Tuesday, August 9, 2011 It’s been almost five months since our ...

JEZ: Jamaica Center/Parsons Archer, Queens

Tuesday, March 29, 2011 We take the J because we both ...

SIR: Tottenville, Staten Island

Saturday, March 26, 2011 Holy end-of-the-line, Batman, Staten Island is really ...

2: Wakefield/241st Street, The Bronx

Thursday, March 24, 2011 We pull a last-minute switcheroo on our ...

R: Bay Ridge/95th Street, Brooklyn

Sunday, March 20, 2011 Ooph. No beautiful glowing glass art at ...

L: 14th Street/8th Avenue, Manhattan

Friday, March 18, 2011 This trip feels oddly important. It’s the ...

1: South Ferry, Manhattan

Tuesday, March 15, 2011 Sometimes, admittedly not as often as I’d ...

L: Rockaway Canarsie, Brooklyn

Sunday, March 13, 2011 After 18 years here, the cultural associations ...

6: Pelham Bay Park, the Bronx

Monday, February 21, 2011 We went to Manhattan. We went to ...

M: Middle Village, Metropolitan Ave., Queens

Saturday, February 19, 2011 Yesterday kids were playing basketball outdoors in ...

A: Inwood-207th Street, Manhattan

Thursday February 3, 2011 The idea had been hanging over my ...