Venus

Posted on February 20th, 2012 by Viveca in New York Stories

The F train has a section in Brooklyn that runs outside on elevated tracks.

My train was stopped there, and the conductor made some announcement about why were waiting and when we would start to move again. After a few minutes of silence, he started chatting with another train operator, but we could still hear his voice leaking through the intercom:

“Now that’s what I’m talking about,” he said, in that perfect Bugs Bunny New York accent, “over there, on the left. You see the yellow one? That’s Venus. That’s 24 million miles away.”

One Comment on “Venus”

  1. Josh P

    I’ve read a good chunk of blog posts in my time.

    You may have hit the trifecta- a perfect balance of writing, observation, and circumstances. Thanks for sharing it, Viveca!

Leave a Reply

More News

Calendar

June 2019
M T W T F S S
« Jan    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

The End of the Line

Weighing the options

SIR: St. George, Staten Island

Monday, April 9, 2012 Spring break for the Salisbury (CT) public ...

3: 148th Street/Harlem, Manhattan

Tuesday, November 15, 2011 I read a bit of that Quran, ...

S: Franklin Avenue, Brooklyn

Thursday, August 11, 2011 Boy if I thought Damaso changing his ...

NQ: Astoria/Ditmars Boulevard, Queens

Tuesday, August 9, 2011 It’s been almost five months since our ...

JEZ: Jamaica Center/Parsons Archer, Queens

Tuesday, March 29, 2011 We take the J because we both ...

SIR: Tottenville, Staten Island

Saturday, March 26, 2011 Holy end-of-the-line, Batman, Staten Island is really ...

2: Wakefield/241st Street, The Bronx

Thursday, March 24, 2011 We pull a last-minute switcheroo on our ...

R: Bay Ridge/95th Street, Brooklyn

Sunday, March 20, 2011 Ooph. No beautiful glowing glass art at ...

L: 14th Street/8th Avenue, Manhattan

Friday, March 18, 2011 This trip feels oddly important. It’s the ...

1: South Ferry, Manhattan

Tuesday, March 15, 2011 Sometimes, admittedly not as often as I’d ...

L: Rockaway Canarsie, Brooklyn

Sunday, March 13, 2011 After 18 years here, the cultural associations ...

6: Pelham Bay Park, the Bronx

Monday, February 21, 2011 We went to Manhattan. We went to ...

M: Middle Village, Metropolitan Ave., Queens

Saturday, February 19, 2011 Yesterday kids were playing basketball outdoors in ...

A: Inwood-207th Street, Manhattan

Thursday February 3, 2011 The idea had been hanging over my ...