Tokens

Posted on February 18th, 2012 by Viveca in New York Stories

When the subway fare went up from $1.25 to $1.50, the Transit Authority issued a new token.

I still had two of the old tokens left though, so I asked a transit employee whether I could trade them in for new tokens if I paid the difference in cash. She said I could, so I figured the old tokens still counted as currency.

Then I asked her to take back the $2.50 in old tokens and apply a $2.50 credit to my MetroCard.

“We can’t do that,” she said, “the fare has gone up to $1.50.” I explained that I hadn’t asked her to add two fares to the card, just $2.50. I’d add more money to the card to make it cover the fares.

Again she said, “but the fare’s $1.50.”

I found two quarters for two new tokens and gave up.

That’s why she works in a bulletproof box.

One Comment on “Tokens”

  1. bathrooms

    Thanks for the post I actually learned something from it. Very good content on this site Always looking forward to new post.

Leave a Reply

More News

Calendar

June 2019
M T W T F S S
« Jan    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

The End of the Line

Weighing the options

SIR: St. George, Staten Island

Monday, April 9, 2012 Spring break for the Salisbury (CT) public ...

3: 148th Street/Harlem, Manhattan

Tuesday, November 15, 2011 I read a bit of that Quran, ...

S: Franklin Avenue, Brooklyn

Thursday, August 11, 2011 Boy if I thought Damaso changing his ...

NQ: Astoria/Ditmars Boulevard, Queens

Tuesday, August 9, 2011 It’s been almost five months since our ...

JEZ: Jamaica Center/Parsons Archer, Queens

Tuesday, March 29, 2011 We take the J because we both ...

SIR: Tottenville, Staten Island

Saturday, March 26, 2011 Holy end-of-the-line, Batman, Staten Island is really ...

2: Wakefield/241st Street, The Bronx

Thursday, March 24, 2011 We pull a last-minute switcheroo on our ...

R: Bay Ridge/95th Street, Brooklyn

Sunday, March 20, 2011 Ooph. No beautiful glowing glass art at ...

L: 14th Street/8th Avenue, Manhattan

Friday, March 18, 2011 This trip feels oddly important. It’s the ...

1: South Ferry, Manhattan

Tuesday, March 15, 2011 Sometimes, admittedly not as often as I’d ...

L: Rockaway Canarsie, Brooklyn

Sunday, March 13, 2011 After 18 years here, the cultural associations ...

6: Pelham Bay Park, the Bronx

Monday, February 21, 2011 We went to Manhattan. We went to ...

M: Middle Village, Metropolitan Ave., Queens

Saturday, February 19, 2011 Yesterday kids were playing basketball outdoors in ...

A: Inwood-207th Street, Manhattan

Thursday February 3, 2011 The idea had been hanging over my ...